Current Location Of: Home >> Faculty Profile >> Inquiry by Institute
    ZHU Xudong Professor
    Institute of Teacher Education

    Professor Zhu Xudong, serving as the current dean of Faculty of Education of Beijing Normal University. He also serves as the director of Center for Teacher Education Research of Beijing Normal University (Key Research Base of Humanities and Social Sciences for Universities, Ministry of Education) and a distinguished professor of the Yangtze River Scholar Program by the Ministry of Education. As a member and secretary-general of the National Advisory Expert Committee on Teacher Education, Ministry of Education, Prof. Zhu is also the secretary-general of Teacher Education Branch of China Association of Higher Education, and a guest researcher of the Central Committee of the China Association for Promoting Democracy.

    Prof. Zhu has long been engaging in research on discipline construction of teacher education, system and policy, comparative education and foreign education history. Prof. Zhu has made great academic achievements. He has published more than 160 academic papers. There are 27 sets of books written, edited and translated by Prof. Zhu. He also edited 47 books in 2 sets and compiled 13 books in 2 sets. Professor Zhu has received a variety of awards. He is the candidate of Beijing New Century “Hundred-talent Project” for Social Sciences. He is also one of the first “Four One-group” talents in Beijing’s publicity and cultural system. He won the first prize of National Teaching Achievement Award in Higher Education and the grand prize of Beijing Teaching Achievement Award in Higher Education. In 2010, he was selected as an Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Advisor in Beijing and a candidate for the New Century Excellent Talents Support Program of the Ministry of Education, which is one of the first experts in the “National Training Program” of the Ministry of Education. In 2011, he was an advisor for the nominated 100 doctoral theses. Prof. Zhu is also a senior visiting scholar of the University of Maryland in the United States under the Fulbright Program fund.